What We Do

The Fredericksburg Metropolitan Area Planning Organization’s (FAMPO) mission is to provide a cooperative, continuous and comprehensive (“3C”) transportation planning process to build regional agreement on transportation investments that balance roadway, public transit, bicycle, pedestrian, and other transportation needs and support regional land use, economic, and environmental goals for the safe and efficient movement of people and goods. Special emphasis is placed on providing equal access to a variety of transportation choices and effective public involvement in the transportation planning process.

FAMPO is currently governed by an 11-member Policy Committee. This is a voting board that includes three members from Stafford County, three from Spotsylvania County, three from the City of Fredericksburg, one from the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT), and one from the Potomac and Rappahannock Transportation Commission (PRTC). Non-voting members include one each from Caroline County, King George County, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), and one from the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation (DRPT).

FAMPO’s transportation plans and programs are reviewed by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA).

Along with transportation planning, FAMPO devotes time and effort toward future development, community enhancement, and improving the quality of life within the Fredericksburg regional area.

FAMPO is responsible for creating, developing and reviewing transportation plans, which include the long-range, 25-year Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP), the short-range, 3-year Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), the annual Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP), the Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan (BPP), the Public Participation Plan (PPP), travel models, thoroughfare plans, and transit plans. All of these documents work together to identify transportation programs, funding alternatives and projects.