Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC)

Stock photo of people sitting at a casual meeting

About the Committee

The Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC) is comprised of local residents, planners, advocacy group representatives, and government staff. Its purpose is to connect with the public and to advise the FAMPO Policy Committee and FAMPO staff on issues related to active transportation, such as walking, biking, and using a wheelchair, as well as skateboarding, e-scooters, hoverboards, and other forms of micro-mobility.


The meetings listed below are open to the public. There is a time designated for public comment and public participation is encouraged.

Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee Meeting October 7, 2021, at 6:00 pm. The meeting will be held in person. Agenda packet linked here three days prior.

Although the meeting will be held in-person, there is an option to attend virtually (committee members must provide advance notice of intent to attend virtually). In order to view documents being shared, you will want to join the meeting from your computer, tablet, or smartphone by visiting: For your smartphone or tablet, you may search your app store for GoToMeeting. If you are unable to join by computer, smartphone, or tablet, you can dial in using your phone: 1 (872) 240-3212 Access Code: 830-528-245

BPAC typically meets bi-monthly on the first Thursday of the month at 6:00 pm in the George Washington Regional Commission (GWRC) building at 406 Princess Anne Street, Fredericksburg 22401. Attendees may park behind the GWRC building in spaces reserved for GWRC staff or on the street as signs permit. Enter the GWRC parking lot from Charles Street, see map.

Please check our online calendar for changes to the normal schedule and location.

Join the Committee

If you are interested in joining BPAC, please contact your local jurisdiction by using the phone numbers listed below.

  • At-large member: (540) 642-1235  1 open seat! 
  • City of Fredericksburg:  (540) 372-1010
  • Spotsylvania County:  (540) 507-7010
  • Stafford County:  (540) 658-4541
  • Caroline County:  (540) 663-5800
  • King George County:  (540) 775-9181 1 open seat! 

Participation Assistance

Public participation is solicited without regard to race, color, national origin, age, sex, religion, disability or family status.  Persons who require special accommodations under the American with Disabilities Act or persons who require translation services (free of charge) should contact the GWRC/FAMPO at 540-373-2890 or prior to the meeting. If hearing impaired, telephone 1-800-552-7917 (TTY) or 7-1-1.

BPAC Bylaws

Bylaws of the Fredericksburg Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee – Adopted January 30, 2020/Amended October 1, 2020




February 4, 2021 – Agenda  Draft MinutesMinutesVideo Recording

April 1, 2021 – Agenda  Draft MinutesMinutesVideo Recording

June 3, 2021 – Agenda  Draft MinutesMinutesVideo Recording

August 26, 2021 – Agenda  Draft MinutesMinutesVideo Recording

October 7, 2021 – Agenda  Draft Minutes – Minutes – Video Recording Part 1Video Recording Part 2

November 4, 2021 – Agenda  Draft Minutes – Minutes



January 30, 2020 – Agenda  Draft MinutesMinutes

March 5, 2020 – AgendaDraft MinutesMinutes

May 7, 2020 – COVID-19 Meeting Cancellation

July 9, 2020 – Cancelled for schedule update

August 6, 2020 – AgendaDraft MinutesMinutesVideo Recording

October 1, 2020 – AgendaDraft MinutesMinutesVideo Recording

December 3, 2020 – AgendaDraft MinutesMinutesVideo Recording


November 21, 2019 – Agenda  Draft Minutes


January 17, 2018 – Agenda – Minutes


August 31, 2017 – Agenda  Minutes
September 28, 2017 – Agenda  Minutes
November 15, 2017 – Agenda – Minutes

Click here to view FAMPO’s 2045 Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan 

Click here to view a Google map showing a collection of local trails. When you click on a trail icon, you’ll will be provided with more information on each trail.

BPAC Committee Members

Caroline County
  • Craig Pennington, Chair

Stafford County
  • Brian Geouge, Vice Chair
    Principal Planner
King George County
  • Chris Clarke
    Director of Parks & Recreation

City of Fredericksburg
  • Jamie Jackson

    Transportation Director

Spotsylvania County
  • Jacob Pastwik
    Planner III

Citizen Representatives
  • Heather LaBelle, Caroline County

  • Kristin Harding, Spotsylvania County

  • Stephen Littlewood, Stafford County

  • Yamina Jordan (Alternate), Stafford County
  • Aaron Frank, City of Fredericksburg

  • TBD, King George County

  • John Lysher, At-Large

  • TBD, At-Large

Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT)
  • Linda LaSut

Potomac & Rappahannock Transportation Commission (PRTC)
  • Joy Himes
    Transit Planner

  • Ben Matters (Alternate)
    Vanpool Alliance Program Manager

National Park Service (NPS)
  • Kirsten Talken-Spaulding

  • Leigh Anderson
    Assistant Director

Friends of the Rappahannock (FOR)
  • Adam Lynch
    River Steward, Fredericksburg & Stafford

disAbility Resource Center (DRC)
  • Debra Fults
    Executive Director

  • Deborah Lately (Alternate)
    Director of Advocacy

Fredericksburg Trails Alliance (FredTrails)
  • Rob Maple

Potomac Heritage Trail Association (PHTA)
  • Jim Lynch

Friends of the Dahlgren Railroad Heritage Trail (DRHT)
  • Jim Lynch

Fredericksburg Cyclist Club (FCC)
  • John Summer

  • Stan Huie (Alternate)

Virginia Bicycle Federation (VBF)
  • Stan Huie
    Board Director

  • Brantley Tyndall (Alternate)

Spotsylvania Greenways Initiative (SGI)
  • Stan Huie